Memoirs of a Geisha

When I was ten the movie  Memoirs of a Geisha was coming out. Also when I was ten I was obsessed with history. For a ten year old I spent an annoying amount of time watching the history channel (may it rest in peace). The movie which is supposedly about the young girls trained to become essential Japanese man pleasers was coming out around Christmas time. I remember this because the history channel suddenly became geisha central, and I WAS FASCINATED. Of course being ten years old my mom was not about to allow me to watch a movie about young girls who are trained to fulfill these japenese businessmen’s every desire, but I did get my PG geisha fix from the history channel  that Christmas season. I still have not seen the movie and I only assume that this is what is is about, also its probably a smart move on my moms part because i grew up to be a feisty feminist who LOVES TO PISS MEN OFF (idk if thats actually true).  Anyway I remember being ten and it being Christmas eve and not being able to sleep. I assume its from the excitement of Christmas being the next day, but I do not remember that really so I’m not going to pretend like that was definitely the reason. Anyway I woke up in the wee hours of the night and went to the family room.  To my surprise saw my mom and brother already sitting out there. I asked my mom if I could stay out there and she said sure. I made myself a little pallet of blanket in front of the tv (As i often did) (it took my parents forever to figure out I had shitty eyesight) and watched this history channel special about these japanese girls until i fell asleep and awoke to Christmas morning. I tell this story not because that night had any profound effect on me in anyway. Hell, I literally retained zero information about geishas that night. I tell that story because I feel like that night is an integral part of who i am. I have NO idea why. I just need people to know that I did this. I need people to know I was the ten year old obsessed with geisha’s in order to understand me. I guess that’s it.

Leave a Reply

